Feminism Friday!

I’ve been doing Feminism Fridays on my Facebook now for ages. I’ll add them here as well in the future.

Here’s this week’s: http://whatever.scalzi.com/2012/05/15/straight-white-male-the-lowest-difficulty-setting-there-is/

And maybe at this point you say, hey, I like a challenge, I want to change my difficulty setting! Well, here’s the thing: In The Real World, you don’t unlock any rewards or receive any benefit for playing on higher difficulty settings. The game is just harder, and potentially a lot less fun. And you say, okay, but what if I want to replay the game later on a higher difficulty setting, just to see what it’s like? Well, here’s the other thing about The Real World: You only get to play it once. So why make it more difficult than it has to be? Your goal is to win the game, not make it difficult.

I think the article does a great job talking about privilege without ever through it in anyone’s faces. My husband is a straight white male. He’s been extra lucky: never had to search for a job (ever, including adult life), born into a solidly middle class family, had college and grad school under his belt with no debt. Not all his life has been easy. He has social anxiety and regular anxiety and is prone to bouts of depression. But he’s been pretty lucky.

I may have been luckier, though, in all other ways, except for being born female. I experience things he never has. He never gets shouted at while running. He never gets sneers about his job being “women’s work.” Life is pretty peaceful.

I have it good. I know that. I’m a straight white female, upper middle class. I have a very even relationship with my husband. There are no girl chores or boy chores. When we have children, I’ll stay home not because I’m the woman, but because it will fit both of us better.

But that’s neither here nor there. It’s not until we can see and accept privilege that we can work to change it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

